Bay to Breakers 2011

I live  in San Francisco near the Panhandle, so I just tolerate the annual Bay to Breakers.  Locals put up with the traffic snarls, the mess, and the drunken parties, and then we’re relieved it’s over for another year.  Still, it’s a photo opportunity, and here’s my favorite image.  These folks were dressed as blue birds.  I don’t know what kind, because I didn’t ask.  I was too busy staring at their feet!

Bay to Breakers bird feet

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Soliloquy on May 16, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Excuse my ignorance, but what is Bay to Breakers?

    Reply

    • Oh, sorry! It’s an annual “fun run” across the city of San Francisco, from the bay to the ocean, about 7 miles. “Run” is kind of a joke really, because so many people participate that most end up walking leisurely. People wear silly costumes and many consume vast amounts of alcohol. If you’re a local and you’re trying to get somewhere on the other side of the route, forget it!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Soliloquy on May 17, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Ahhh I see! Thanks! It sounds like a nightmare!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

