Archive for November 18th, 2011

A Little Princess

Writing about this 1995 film for Armistice Day, I had to watch it again.  Somehow it gets better and better.  Here are some images that are a tribute to cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki, art director Tom Duffield, production designer Bo Welch, set decorator Cheryl Carasik, costume designer Judianna Makovsky, and director Alfonso Cuarón.  Forgive me for not mentioning all the other folks on the crew who work to make a film look this wonderful.  I do have to give a special shout-out to the lighting team and the animal handlers.  Of course, I also love the talented cast.

A Little Princess uses the colors white, cream and orange for India.  New York and the school are shades of green.  Lots and lots of green.  According to the cinematographer in the DVD extras, green is the only color in the spectrum that can be lit with either warm or cool tones.  I did not know this!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No copyright infringement intended.  This tribute is to encourage my readers to see the film!

