A Little Bit You, Davy Jones

I heard the news about Davy Jones just before noon on Wednesday.  I was caught off guard by the strength of my feelings about his death.  When The Monkees (1966-68) originally aired on television, I was too young.  I watched later, when it was in daytime syndication with shows like The Brady Bunch, The Partridge Family, and Gilligan’s Island.  It was a fun show, and Davy Jones was the most appealing to me.  When The Monkees made a big comeback and started touring, I didn’t go to any of the concerts.  I never owned a record or CD, but I enjoyed songs like Daydream Believer on the radio.  So, why am I so moved by the death of Davy Jones?  I don’t really know, but perhaps it’s that sense we have of losing a little bit of ourselves when someone from our youth passes away.  Davy Jones was talented and adorable, and he will remain eternally young in our collective memory—too young to leave us already.  It’s a reminder to appreciate the special people in our lives while they’re still here.

I was searching for something that would best pay tribute to his special appeal.  This little video captures it perfectly.  Rest in peace, Davy.

“The golden moments in the stream of life rush past us, and we see nothing but sand; the angels come to visit us, and we only know them when they are gone.”   – George Eliot

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Katelyn on March 3, 2012 at 11:34 am

    I used to watch The Monkees on Nick at Nite, and Davy was always my favorite. That video is so absolutely adorable, he will surely be missed.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nelia Green on March 3, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Sorry to hear about Davy’s untimely passing. What a dear tribute to an adorable boy – he certainly aged well keeping boyish good looks and charm. I wasn’t into the MONKEES, or even the BEATLES, at that point in my life. I was a newly divorced, single gal approaching 30, and jazz musicians were my main interest – oh, dear…

    Reply

  3. Always loved him and The Monkees- I was always a casual listener and viewer but I’ve always been a fan……Daydream Believer is one of my favorite songs- and I always looked foreward to seeing the Brady Bunch episode with Davy on it :) :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

