New Beginnings

Sunset in County Mayo, Ireland

County Mayo, Ireland, 1996

One of my early Christmas presents was an Epson V300 scanner.  It does a brilliant job with prints, slides, and both color and B & W negatives.  I have been rediscovering favorite old photos, and discovering that images that didn’t turn out so well when I first developed them can be brought to new life with a little help from photoshop.  This photo was taken from the window of a rental car during a road trip along Ireland’s west coast.  We were just north of Achill Island in County Mayo.   It’s a good image to begin the new year—just pretend it’s a sunrise instead of a sunset.  I’m rarely awake early enough to capture the sunrise with my camera.  Maybe that should be a new resolution?

1 Comment

Filed under Photography, Travel

One response to “New Beginnings

  1. Katelyn

    Beautiful image, and definitely fitting for the new year. I’ve never been to County Mayo but I have strong plans to return to Ireland at least one more time during my lifetime, so I’ll add it to my list of where to visit.

    And I never wake up early enough to see sunrises, but staying up until the sun rises has happened on several occasions.

Leave a Reply

