Daily Archives: April 9, 2011

24601

Here is Alfie Boe as Valjean at the beginning of the Les Misérables concert. When Valjean gets his yellow ticket of leave from prison, he discovers being paroled does not free him.  He steals from the Bishop, but instead of sending him back to prison, the Bishop (Earl Carpenter) gives him his silver candlesticks as well, saying he must use the silver to become an honest man. Valjean rips up his yellow ticket and begins a new life.  

Alfie Boe Jean Valjean Les Miserables

The day begins, and now let's see, what this new world will do for me.

Alfie Boe as Jean Valjean, Les Miserables

This piece of paper in my hand, it makes me cursed throughout the land. It is the Law!

Alfie Boe Jean Valjean Les Miserables

Tell his Reverence your story, let us see if he's impressed!

Alfie Boe Jean Valjean Les Miserables Earl Carpenter Bishop of Digne

God has raised you out of darkness, I have bought your soul for God.

Alfie Boe Jean Valjean Les Miserables

Why did I allow this man to touch my soul and teach me love?

Alfie Boe Jean Valjean Les Miserables

Take an eye for an eye, turn your heart into stone! This is all I have lived for, this is all I have known! Is there another way to go?

Alfie Boe Valjean Les Miserables
Jean Valjean is nothing now, another story must begin!

Related Posts:   Gavroche   My Les Mis    Please Sir, I Want Some More    To The Barricade!   Ramin Karimloo   Grantaire   Enjolras & Grantaire   Thénardier Waltz    Gavroche: Liar!     Bring Him Home   Enjolras   Les Mis: The Originals

2 Comments

Filed under Actors, Theatre