Today’s Tony Award Nominations

Last year I reported my impressions of the Tony Awards, complaining about the overabundance of movie stars when I wanted to see Broadway performers.  I wrote then that hopefully at the next Tony Awards we’d get to see Sutton and Hunter Foster, Christian Hoff and Casey Nicholaw.  Well, today the Tony nominations were announced.  Sutton Foster has been nominated for Anything Goes, and Casey Nicholaw has two nominations, for co-directing The Book of Mormon with Trey Parker, and for his choreography of this new hit musical.  I’m so happy!  I’m happy for them and for myself, because this means we’ll be treated to a better Tony broadcast.  Hopefully.

Casey Nicholaw with The Book of Mormon creators

Casey Nicholaw (second from L) with The Book of Mormon creators

Now, I haven’t seen The Book of Mormon, about two young missionaries sent to Uganda.  I’ve read that it’s a wickedly funny parody of organized religion, and that the characters are not simply caricatures.   It’s written by Matt Stone and Trey Parker (South Park) with Robert Lopez.  Casey Nicholaw, the co-director and choreographer, was a member of San Diego Junior Theatre, and my family started attending his performances when I was in sixth grade.  My father and Casey’s father were work associates, and later I also joined Junior Theatre.  The first show I crewed was How To Succeed in Business Without Trying, and Casey was our Finch.   Casey has been nominated twice before for the Tony Award, for his choreography for Spamalot and for The Drowsy Chaperone.  I’m rooting for him, of course, but to me he’s already a winner.  He’s working on Broadway, along with fellow JT alum Christian Hoff (Jersey Boys), living the dream we all had as kids.  I’m looking forward to seeing him and all my other favorites during the  June 12th Tony Awards broadcast.  Congratulations, Casey!

Casey Nicholaw JT reunion 2008

Casey Nicholaw at the San Diego Junior Theatre reunion, 2008

PS  I love going to The Book of Mormon official website to move my mouse over the doorbell in the logo.  I don’t know why it amuses me so much!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Soliloquy on May 4, 2011 at 2:33 am

    Excited for Book Of Mormon. I’ve heard it’s amazing. I’d like it to transfer so I can see it over here 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

