Enation’s “Video for a Cause” Contest

I’m a fan of Enation, the indie band fronted by actor Jonathan Jackson.  This week, the band is having a “Video for a Cause” contest.  Their new song The Salvation of One will be on their upcoming album My Ancient Rebellion, due to be released in late October.   Fans have been invited to create a video using the song for a cause of their choice.  The winner of the contest will receive concert tickets and an iChat with either Jonathan Jackson or Bethany Joy Galeotti of Everly and One Tree Hill.   (She’s married to Enation’s Michael Galeotti.)

I love making short videos using Animoto, and I’ve been looking for an excuse to make longer videos with an upgrade to Animoto Plus.  It’s only $5 a month, less if you pre-pay for a year.  If you want to upgrade your video for better resolution, ideal for YouTube, it’s an extra $3 per video.  I decided to make one for the contest.  With less than a week to make the video, I wasn’t able to go anywhere to take photos.  Instead, I used photos from news sources of recent natural disasters, including the Christchurch earthquake, Japan tsunami, and Joplin tornado.  My cause is the Red Cross and other organizations around the world that provide relief.  Here is my video.

I learned so much making this.  As a photographer, I strongly believe that all photographs should be properly credited.   I realize I’ve posted many photographs here on my blog where I haven’t done that.  It’s not easy, though.  So many times, photographs have been copied from other sites, and the credits have been left off.  Sometimes when you use google image search, the pages where the photos appeared have expired, so you can’t even find the source.  I’m going to make a better effort in the future with the photos used here, in spite of the difficulties.

A few months ago, I was using google image search.  I found one of my best photographs on somebody else’s website, and the woman was claiming it as her own work.  Once something like that happens, you know how important it is to protect your work and to have it respected.

You can tell I’m passionate about this!  Perhaps I should have made this my “cause.”  Anyway, there are some great videos being submitted by Enation fans.  It’s made for a very interesting week.  I don’t actually want to win the contest, since the real prize is making a video and having others watch it, especially people whose creative efforts you admire.

If you watch my video, be sure to leave a comment on YouTube, and support disaster relief!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Katelyn on July 14, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    I think with all the music copyright issues unfortunately photography copyright issues often get overlooked. I can imagine how frustrating it would be to see someone else take credit for your work.

    Your video is amazing! Definitely a reminder to be grateful for what we have and to give back when we can. Good luck in the contest 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nelia Green on July 24, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Nicely put together video – excellent way to review these events in one place. Be careful what you put out there – you just might win – and then what?

    Reply

    • Well, winning won’t mean much at this point! The band postponed indefinitely all but one of their concerts, and that concert was last night. They haven’t chosen a winner yet, so that doesn’t leave much of a prize. It’s a good thing I made a video for other reasons. Thanks for watching it and taking the time to comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

