Stage Door (7): Alan Rickman and Lindsay Duncan

Another in a series of stage door encounters with favorite actors.

Last month, I discussed the BBC America website’s “Anglo Fan Favorite” competition.  Well, Alan Rickman won. The man has a powerful fan base! This is kind of late, but I’m saluting his win by sharing this stage door encounter.

In October 2001, I was lucky enough to see Alan Rickman perform in a West End production of Noel Coward’s Private Lives with Lindsay Duncan. It was a delightful romp. Having just seen Hamlet at Statford-upon-Avon, the Coward play seemed so short! We went to the stage door to meet the cast, naturally. Rickman and Duncan were perfectly friendly, but we could see that they were tired from the performance. They posed for a photograph, and Rickman signed the cover of my Harry Potter book. It may sound tacky have him sign a Harry Potter book at a stage door, but this was just a couple of weeks before the first movie opened in cinemas, when nobody knew how huge it was all going to be. Anyway, Rickman didn’t seem to mind!

alan-rickman-photo-and-autograph copy

Americans will notice that my Harry Potter book is a UK edition, so it’s “Philosopher’s Stone” and not “Sorcerer’s Stone.”  I could launch into my rant about how stupid it was to change the American title to “Sorcerer’s Stone” (which isn’t an actual historical reference to anything), but it’s a lost cause.

Other Stage Door Encounters:  1   2   3   4   5   6

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Katelyn on September 18, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Yay, I’m so happy for Alan Rickman! His fans must be unstoppable. I just adored him in Sense & Sensibility. And how cute he signed your Harry Potter book. Good to know he’s worthy of the ‘fan favorite’ title.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nelia Green on September 18, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    I believe my first Alan Rickman sighting was “Truly, Madly, Deeply” in 1991 – have watched & enjoyed this film numerous times, and kept track of his work over the years.

    Reply

    • I love Truly, Madly, Deeply! It’s still my favorite Rickman role. The first thing I saw him in was the 1978 BBC Television production of Romeo & Juliet, playing Tybalt. It wasn’t until T,M,D that I actually noticed how awesome he is.

      I’ve always wanted to try the “hopping on one foot while telling lots of stuff about yourself” as an ice breaker, but I’m not sure I could pull it off as well as Michael Maloney and Juliet Stevenson, also favorites of mine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

