It’s Just Not Cricket

It really is disappointing to find the images I used from The Phantom of the Opera. posted only 11 hours ago, copied all over tumblr sites without permission.   It’s impossible at this point to track down and contact all the site owners, because the images have been reblogged so many times.  It’s too late to take down what’s already been posted, but I’ve decided not to upload any more POTO25 images.

Sorry, folks.

Update:  Since posting this, I’ve spent the last day hearing from so many wonderful people who shared the Phantom experience.  As I’ve said in some of the comments, the images aren’t really mine.  They belong to the Phantom production and the performers themselves.  I shouldn’t have been surprised they went viral so fast, and I hope there will be better official images published from the performance.  There are many beautiful images from the curtain call and encores, including the ones by Dan Wooller for whatsonstage.co.uk.

Fans have also posted videos on YouTube from the performance, and you could see them being filmed from the audience during the simulcast.  The quality of these videos can’t match the DVD, which won’t be released in the US until February 7, 2012.  I wish we knew why, when the UK version is releasing on November 14th.  Why wait until after Christmas when the US market has such a huge fan base?  I know the DVD would make a great Christmas present.

I’ve decided to upload images from the curtain call and finale, since so many better images have already been published.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ralph Adette on October 3, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I encountered one of these and credited @uglybugball. Sorry for the unprofessional behavior of the tumblr crowd. The picture of Hadley Fraser crossfading to Masquerade was just a magical shot, and your labours over Photoshop are deeply appreciated.

    Reply

    • Oh, thank you so much! As I just wrote in another comment, the true ownership of these images belong to RUG and the performers themselves, but it’s nice to know that some folks understand the extra effort here. After the DVD comes out, there will be far better screencaps made by others, and probably me. It’s too bad those of us in the US have such a long wait (February 7th.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Aubrey on October 3, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    SAD!!! 😦 It’s because your shots are SOOOO nice and people are absolutely nuts about the performance. I’m very appreciative you’re not taking down the ones you’ve put up. I would be heartbroken!

    Thank you so much for posting what you have. 🙂

    Reply

    • You’re very welcome. I did post the best ones, and most of the rest are of curtain call and the encores, which are well covered by the professionals around the internet already.

      I fully expect people to copy the images onto their own computers for their private enjoyment. After all, I do that all the time myself!

      Reply

  3. Posted by ashley on October 3, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    aww 😦 I couldn’t see it where I live, so that sucks, especially since they were so good quality.. but I’m sorry about people taking them from you without credit!! xx

    Reply

    • I almost didn’t get to see it myself, since no cinemas in San Francisco proper were showing it. Fortunately a friend was willing to drive to San Bruno. I might still cave and post more, which are of curtain call and encores.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Ralph Adette on October 5, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Was very pleased to see the updated website with proper attribution. I hope it was a matter of omission by neglect. BTW did you see the S0 minutes clip of BoM? It is online, but I haven’t had time to see it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

