Nanny McPhee Returns

Emma Thompson is one of my favorites.  I’m particularly fond of Nanny McPhee, because Thompson is not afraid to get ugly for the role.   I’ve got the flu, and I needed something to cheer me up, so  I watched Nanny McPhee Returns (2010).  While it’s not as good as the first film, it was still an entertaining way to spend an afternoon.  The adult actors who appear in the film include Rhys Ifans, Maggie Smith, Bill Bailey, Ewan McGregor, and Ralph Fiennes.  The kids were well cast and had distinct personalities.  Here are some images:

Emma Thompson as Nanny McPhee

Who's that at the door? It's Emma Thompson as Nanny McPhee

Nanny McPhee: the kids room

Emma Thompson as Nanny McPhee with horn

Oscar Steer as Vincent

Oscar Steer as Vincent

Nanny McPhee: The piglet synchronized swim

The piglets do synchronized swimming.

Maggie Gyllenhaal and Ewan McGregor

Maggie Gyllenhaal and Ewan McGregor

nanny mcphee ralph fiennes

Ralph Fiennes

Nanny McPhee: disarming UXB

I'm not quite sure disarming a bomb is the best way for a family to bond.

3 Comments

Filed under Actors, Movies

3 responses to “Nanny McPhee Returns

  1. Yes! A rousing YES! These are two of the most charming films ever made and the casts are wonderful. We watched the first film, not knowing what to expect, but we were won over immediately. The second movie is equally as rich as the first … dare we hope for a third soon?

  2. Katelyn

    I love Emma Thompson, but I admit I’ve never seen Nanny McPhee. Hmm, might be time to add it to my Netflix queue. Hope you’re feeling better!

  3. Nelia Green

    Enjoyed the original – sequel’s in my Netflix queue and will move it up on your recommendation.

Leave a Reply

