Katherine Heigl

Katherine Heigl at Macy's for Roswell signingOne of my friends went to opening night of One for the Money with Katherine Heigl.   We have both read the Stephanie Plum books by Janet Evanovich, but I’m just not brave enough to see a movie that wasn’t even previewed for critics.  In honor of my friend, here are some photos I took of Katherine Heigl in early 2000.

I was a big fan of the first season of Roswell, the television series about teenage space aliens in New Mexico.  I wasn’t one of the viewers who mailed tabasco sauce to the WB network, a unique campaign to save the show from cancellation.  Still, I was really pleased when it got picked up for a second season.  My joy turned to anguish when the show changed directions in season two, and I stopped watching.  I still break out the first season on DVD every now and again, when I need a little dose of teenage romance.  Given the choice between Roswell and the Twilight films, I’ll take Roswell every time!  Roswell added a good dose of humor to the teenage angst and featured an appealing group of young actors.

Katherine Heigl played one of the alien teens, and I went to Macy’s to get her autograph at a guest appearance.  She was relaxed and friendly, and I was impressed with the way she interacted with fans.  Two girls brought the Roswell dolls they’d made from Barbies to show her, and she was delighted with them.   Not only did I get my Roswell book autographed, I got a free tee shirt and denim bag.

I still find Heigl an appealing actress, but I sure hope she starts finding some better scripts!

Katherine Heigl with Roswell dolls and fans

Katherine Heigl with Roswell dolls and fans (click on photo for sharper version)

Roswell memorabilia

Roswell denim bag, autographed book, and tee shirt

I’m sure my friend will give us her impressions of Katherine Heigl’s latest film in the comments here. (How’s that for pressure?!)

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Katelyn on January 27, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Oh boy, I definitely feel the pressure. Let’s just say if you keep your expectations realistic about a very, very low budget film that was supposed to be made nearly a decade ago you probably wouldn’t hate ‘One for the Money.’

    I went in knowing this movie wasn’t going to win any awards, but I loved the book and felt like I had to give it a shot. For the most part it stayed consistent with the book, although a few of the casting decisions did not match up with what I pictured in my head (Debbie Reynolds as Grandma Mazur was a good choice though). If you haven’t read the book I would not recommend the movie, unless you’re a really big fan of Katherine Heigl. She did a good job, despite the Jersey accent. If you have read the book, but aren’t willing to set aside some room for modification then I also wouldn’t recommend the movie. But if you’re looking for something to do to get out of the house for two hours, and you keep your expectations low, you might not feel like you wasted ten bucks. How’s that for a glowing recommendation?

    By the way, I’ve heard conflicting opinions of Katherine Heigl so I was glad to hear your experience meeting her was a pleasant one. I first saw her in a Disney movie ‘Wish Upon a Star’ when I was kid, but I hadn’t kept up with her career much (having never been a Grey’s Anatomy watcher). It would be nice if she could get some better roles.

    Reply

    • Thanks for the mini-review, even if I tricked you into it!

      The signing at Macy’s was really mellow, and there wasn’t a big crowd. People were behaving themselves, and Katherine Heigl was prepared to meet fans and be photographed. Perhaps some of the stories you’ve heard were from situations when she was just trying to go about her private life. Who knows? I’m just glad there weren’t that many people, because that’s how I scored both a tee shirt and a bag!

      Reply

  2. I just watched the first season of Roswell for the first time! I like it, it’s a bit cheesy but still fun and entertaining. Too bad to hear the second season isn’t very good. I haven’t started it yet. I think Katherine Heigl’s alright; she’s good in Roswell, but I remember when she called ‘Knock Up’ antifeminist or something like that, and then every single movie she’s made since has been far worse on that point!

    Reply

    • The second season of Roswell was more sci-fi/alien stuff and less romance, so that’s why I didn’t enjoy it. I actually wish I’d stuck with the series, because it got better toward the end. The shorter third season moved back in a better direction, and there are some really good episodes. Well, some heartbreak, too. The Christmas episode and the tribute to 60s sitcoms are special favorites. Season three also has a young Adam Rodriguez. So, in other words, it’s worth watching. I’m glad I got to see it on DVD. Come back and let me know what YOU think.

      Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Mariana on January 28, 2012 at 3:32 am

    Great to the see the pics of Katherine from way back then. She is a real sweetheart – met her a few times and couldn’t be nicer. As for OFTM a group of us saw the midnight showing haha and I thought it was much better than I had expected. I was checking out the Facebook page for the movie and most of the fans there seemed to really like it. I think its definitely worth you checking it out.

    Reply

    • It’s good to hear that Heigl has stayed nice, and that OFTM is better than expected. My budget for going out to see films in the cinema is tight, so I have to be selective, especially since I’ve only seen 2 of the 9 Oscar nominees so far!

      Reply

  4. That’s Awesome! 🙂 I’ve seen her in the Love Saga movies! Love when I get to see those once in a while when I feel like watching them! 🙂 🙂

    Reply

    • Since everyone seems to be going off the Katherine trail….if you ever get to meet Johnny [Crawford], he is one of the kindest people I know! He’s a true gentleman and 🙂 I could go on and on about it!! 😀 😀 He’s more than happy to do autographs and pictures! 🙂 🙂 🙂 and sing!! 😀 😀

      I jumped a bit- I saw Debbie Reynolds mentioned in the other comment above….LOL 🙂 🙂 oh well…. LOL….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

