It Was Twenty Years Ago Today…

Well, maybe not exactly today, but this month anyway.  The lyrics from Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band keep going through my head, as I think about the band I “joined” 20 year ago.  I had only been living in San Francisco for about a year when I went to an open mike night at a cafe on Haight Street.  One of the acts was a new band called New Grass Spirits.  I took some photographs, began following them, and before I knew it, I was living with some of them in a cramped apartment.  I became their “official photographer,” because I’m not musical and how else could I join a band?  The group broke up and re-formed more than once, changed their name to Straw Coyotes, and kept adding new members.   Everybody went their separate ways after a couple of intense years.   I have some amazing memories and a big box of fun photographs.  Here’s one of my favorites.

new-grass-spirits copy

Happy Anniversary, Kirk, Adam, Dhaivyd, Deana, and Kwame!

5 Comments

Filed under Music, Photography

5 responses to “It Was Twenty Years Ago Today…

  1. That sounds like so much fun! Also, Sgt. Pepper’s is the best Beatles album, hands down.

  2. Katelyn

    Cute photo!

    Now I’m going to have Sgt. Pepper’s stuck in my head all day.

  3. Thanks for the memories, Stacey. Holy buckets – 20 years! I still think of everybody as the ages we were back then. I think I remember a few other shots from this shoot – wasn’t it at that place in the Castro? – of me using my dreads as a samurai would a sword. Hugs across the miles and years!

Leave a Reply

