Two Very Different Videos

Last week, the first trailer for Les Misérables hit the internet.  I’m late in sharing it, and I assume most of the folks who are keen about the upcoming film will have seen it already.  My feelings about the trailer are very mixed, but I will wait for the actual movie before judging.  I’ll always have the original London production and cast in my heart, but I was able to embrace most of the 25th anniversary production.  The movie is yet another step in the musical journey.

 

My obsession with the TV western Laramie and star Robert Fuller continues.  I made a little tribute video on YouTube.  The quality of the images reflect the fuzzy nature of the DVDs, but I just love this character!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nelia Green on June 6, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Thanks for posting. Generally, I do like the Les Mis trailer – gives an overall impression what we will experience visually on screen. I’m really looking forward to this film, and believe that Tom Hooper (The King’s Speech) will do his very best in adapting stage musical to live action musical action drama. I have seen three of the English speaking films: Frederic March and Charles Laughton make their mark in 1935; The 1978 Cinemascope production stars Anthony Perkins as a fanatical Javert; and the most recent release features Liam Neeson’s excellent portrayal of Jean Valjean being pursued by indomitable Geoffrey Rush in the 1998 epic drama. Each film easily stands on its own as Victor Hugo’s story, a powerful and timeless tale of love, hope and charity, is one that we can all relate to.

    A quote from Inside Movies article sums up my feelings about the Les Miserables’ trailer: “It’s a bit of a shame that we don’t get to hear Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe, or Amanda Seyfried show off their pipes — but we can count on subsequent trailers to fix that problem. And in any case, this clip certainly looks good; has 19th century misery ever been quite so visually appealing?”

    I swear that I saw Eddie Redmayne’s name appearing in the trailer – maybe it was my subconscious mind filling in the big blank where it should have appeared. Also wish that Samantha Barks was listed as her character actually has more screen time than Cosette or Fantine for that matter. Also, we don’t get a glimpse of Sacha Baron Cohen and Helena Bonham Carter’s take on the Thenardiers – maybe they’ll be the secret ingredient/weapon. Hadley Fraser’s switching to the other side as the Army General of the National Guard – guess we can’t openly root for his character. Wiki has as comprehensive list of cast members as you’ll find anywhere. I especially liked that actors are not only linked with their character’s name, but includes a brief description of their role and, in some cases, a bit of background info.

    I also trust that there will be additional trailers released before film opens in US December 14th, and on January 11th in the UK.

    See you at the movies….

    Reply

  2. Posted by Angie Scholey on June 7, 2012 at 11:40 am

    So much been posted about the Les Mis trailer already, I’m just going to wait and see how the whole movie comes across. I will say it looks visually incredible and atmospheric. I have been privileged to see the West End production and it is forever in my heart – any movie has a lot to live up to!

    Reply

    • Posted by Nelia Green on June 12, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      Hi Angie … I appreciate your position and might feel the same if I had access to Les Mis on stage locally, or if I lived near London or New York. Other than watching the filmed 25th Anniversary Concert many times, and then seeing the US tour in Denver last September, I’ve not had the occasion to enjoy this production LIVE. I am so excited that this film is being produced, and that many more of us around the globe will have the opportunity to enjoy this amazing musical at our local cinema.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

