The Dark Knight Rises

A friend invited me to attend a special screening of The Dark Knight Rises last night with her family.  This was not a midnight show.  It was at 6:30pm at the San Francisco Metreon, where we saw the long line of people waiting for the midnight screening.  The Metreon was also showing the special Batman Trilogy for $25.  We arrived a little late and missed the very beginning of the film.  It was all a bit chaotic, trying to find the right place to check in and hurrying down the long corridor with 15 screens.  Naturally, ours was the last one.  The five of us didn’t end up sitting next each other, but we quickly grabbed seats on the aisle and tried to figure out what we’d missed.

It’s very difficult to discuss this film for two reasons.  In light of the Aurora tragedy, I can’t help flashing on the scenes in the film that depict random violence aimed at crowds of Gotham citizens in public places, and even mentioning this brings me to the second reason.  I hate plot spoilers, and in this case, they’re hard to avoid.

I’ll start with what I liked best.  I didn’t realize Tom Conti was back on the big screen, and it took me a scene to recognize him.  This was partly due to the way he was filmed in his first scene and his Russian accent, partly because I haven’t seen him in years.  I adore Tom Conti.  My favorite Conti film is Saving Grace (1986).  He plays a pope who gets accidentally locked out of the Vatican and goes to a small village to help rebuild an aqueduct.  He was also in Shirley Valentine (1989), American Dreamer (1984) and Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence (1983).  He was nominated for a best actor Oscar for his performance in Reuben, Reuben (1983).  Lately he’s been doing a lot of voice work and appearing in British television that hasn’t made it to the States.  Just seeing him in The Dark Knight Rises made the movie a treat for me.

I also really enjoyed Joseph Gordon-Levitt.  I liked his character and his performance, and his presence gave me someone to really care about.  Michael Caine, Cillian Murphy, Matthew Modine, and Gary Oldman were also excellent.  Anne Hathaway and Marion Cotillard were both fine, but I’ll admit to being less focused on the females.

Christian Bale has fascinated me since I saw him in Empire of The Sun.  I’ve followed his career closely, and I’ve seen most of his films over the years.  I even went to the opening day matinee of Newsies, which makes me part of an exclusive group, since almost nobody else saw Newsies in the cinema.  Bale is well known for punishing his body to meet the demands of his roles, and his Batman looks older than his years.  So does Bale.  I think he did well, but it wasn’t an easy performance to watch.

I said this in my post about The Avengers, and it’s even more the case with The Dark Knight Rises.  I still find it very disturbing to watch Manhattan, or Manhattan-like cities, blown up and terrorized onscreen.   You can’t separate Batman from Gotham, but in general, there are just too many movies that show large cities being destroyed.  Why can’t filmmakers come up with something else to do with all these great CGI effects?

After the movie, the five of us found each other and compared notes.  One of our party stopped to get popcorn and was directed to the wrong screening by an employee.  He ended up at the Trilogy screening and saw Batman Begins instead.  He’d never seen any of the films, so he didn’t realize he was seeing the wrong one until he tried to find us when it was over.   With all the references to Harvey Dent and the events from the previous films, we all could have used a Batman refresher.

I woke up to the news of the Aurora tragedy, and it’s already coloring my impression of the film.  I’m glad I got to see it before the shootings, and I’m not sure I would have gone to see it otherwise.  I will caution anyone sensitive who sees it now.  A major plot point involves an explosive trap for Gotham police.  There are at least two scenes with gunmen attacking crowds, and I can’t help wondering if these should be trimmed, now that this horrible tragedy has happened.  My prayers go out to the victims and their families.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Katelyn on July 20, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    I am still in awe over this horrible tragedy, and my thoughts and prayers are with everyone affected. Such a shame things like that ever happen. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the movie though, or at least parts of it. I adore Joseph Gordon-Levitt so it’s good to know his presence was notable. And I have to admit, I did find it amusing that your friend ended up in the wrong theater. Thanks for the review, it will be interesting to see if/how the film is changed because of this tragedy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

