An Argo/Tout Sweet Birthday

Today is my birthday, and I celebrated by going to see Argo with a friend.  Sometimes the movies that have a lot of Oscar buzz leave me cold.  I recognize their excellence but I feel disconnected, without an emotional involvement in the characters and story.  Not the case with Argo.  I was totally engrossed from the beginning, which gives a brief but helpful overview to the events leading up to the Iran hostage crisis.  I was a junior in high school when it began, and while I was aware of the overall situation during those years, I was also busy living my teenage life.  The movie made me realize how little attention I’ve paid to the major historical events in my lifetime.  Anyway, I recommend Argo, even though the hair and fashions will make you cringe.  Believe me, I was cringing then, too.

After the movie, my friend and I headed to Tout Sweet Patisserie, Yigit Pura’s new dessert shop in Union Square.  It’s a lovely space, with a delightful staff and a great view of the Square.  I had the Petit Tout Sweet cake and my friend had the sous-vide poached egg sandwich.  I met Yigit Pura a couple of years ago at the GLAAD Media Awards, and again last October at the Meals on Wheels calendar signing at Macys.  I’ve been following the progress of Tout Sweet through facebook and twitter, and today was the perfect day to visit.  Yum!

4 responses to this post.

  1. What a wonderful way to spend the day! And it was sunny, too!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Duchess McCain on October 24, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    Yay!!!! Happy Birthday!!! I hope you’ve enjoyed it.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Katelyn on October 24, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    Happy Birthday! You look so cute in your photo (and that dessert looks delicious). Glad you were able to spend the day doing things you enjoy. I’ll definitely have to add Argo to my must-see movie list.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Nelia Green on October 25, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    …Lookin’ good – what a nice Birthday treat! Yummy chocolate dessert looks like something I’d pick from the essential food group chart. Plan to see Argo SOON…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

