Portraits of Barbara Stanwyck

I recently watched the PBS documentary Pioneers of Television: Westerns, and I was struck by what Linda Evans said about Barbara Stanwyck, her co-star on The Big Valley.  I didn’t know she was one of the nicest people in Hollywood, taking the time to get to know all the crew members and really enjoying herself on set.  This led me to check out the book Starring Miss Barbara Stanwyck by Ella Smith from my local library.  I haven’t read much of the text, because the portraits in the book are too wonderful.  This book is now out of print, but here are some of those images, with more to come.  Perhaps it’s a cheat, to fill my blog pages, but what a great way to cheat!

With Joel McCrea in Internes Can’t Take Money

Columbia general publicity 1930

Stella Dallas

Breakfast for Two

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love Barbara Stanwyck. She was a classy lady who starred in almost every movie genre . I loved her in ‘The Mad Miss Manton”, ‘Ball of Fire’, ‘Meet John Doe”, ‘The Lady Eve’, so many others. There will never be another Barbara Stanwyck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

